Skip to main content

Haning Named 2018 AET Distinguished Senior

Ms. Haley Jo Haning has been named the 2018 Distinguished Senior for EKU's Department of Applied Engineering and Technology. She will be honored during a presentation in April at the Applied Engineering and Technology College to Careers Conference.

The student is selected based on superior academic achievement, excellent leadership, citizenship, character and services to EKU.

Haning, from Shinnston, W.V., will be graduating in May with her Bachelor’s in Aviation Professional Flight and a Minor in Aerospace Management.

Haning has stretched the bounds of expectation earning high-level awards and representing EKU Aviation like a true professional. She was an invited presenter at the National Air and Space Education Institute for both 2015 and 2016 and has made several presentations - especially those that encourage young women to become aviators.

To say that Haning loves to fly is an understatement. She established and contributed to the Global Air online blog. She is an Air Race Classic volunteer and member of the Experimental Aircraft Association. With the EAA, she and three other pilots traveled cross country via bi-plane to attend the 2018 AirVenture in Oshkosh. The four of them worked as a team to chart course and navigate two vintage bi-planes to their final destination.

Haning is a member of Women in Aviation International and secretary of EKU's chapter that she helped to establish in 2017. She is also a member of The Ninety-Nines, Inc., International Organization of Women Pilots as well as the Kentucky Bluegrass Chapter where she has mentored and presented.

Haning is a Rodney Ratliff Scholar, Patricia Eidson awardee, EKU Woman Aviator of Excellence, along with several other aviation-related awards.

Congratulations to Haley Jo Haning on being selected as the 2018 distinguished senior representing the Department of Applied Engineering and Technology.

The department will also honor Mr. Brandon Berry, who was selected as the AET departmental distinguished alum. In addition, recipients of scholarships and awards for the 2017-18 academic year will be recognized and honored for outstanding achievement.

Related Stories:

Published on March 15, 2018

Open /*deleted href=#openmobile*/