Skip to main content

AET students recognized at annual Student-Athlete Academic Awards breakfast

SAASC awards breakfast

Eastern Kentucky University student-athletes gathered in the Keen Johnson Ballroom on April 10th for the annual Student-Athlete Academic Awards Breakfast. The event, hosted by the Bratzke Center, featured EKU President Doug Whitlock as guest speaker and honored more than 275 student-athletes for academic achievement over the past year.

Dr. Gene Palka, Director of the Bratzke Center, congratulated all of the honorees and acknowledged the tremendous academic success experienced by each of the EKU teams. Forty-three students in the College of Business and Technology received awards for their achievements including these awards to students from the Department of Applied Engineering and Technology:

  • Bratzke Award of Excellence: The student-athlete who achieved the highest GPA on their team for the previous academic year
  • Dean’s List: Students who achieved a GPA in accordance with the university’s requirements
  • OVC Commissioner’s Honor Roll: Student-Athletes who achieved a 3.25 GPA for the previous academic year
  • Colonel Scholar: Student-athletes who have achieved a 3.00 GPA in either or both of the previous semesters

Award Recipients from the Department of Applied Engineering and Technology

Anthony Eason (Men’s Cross Country/ Applied Engineering Management) - OVC Commissioner’s Honor Roll, Colonel Scholar

Sean Hagen (Baseball/ Construction Management) - Colonel Scholar

Ole Hesselbjerg (Men’s Cross Country/ Applied Engineering Management) - Dean’s List, Colonel Scholar

Jeremy James (Football/ Construction Management) - Colonel Scholar

Austin Rexroat (Baseball/ Construction Management) - Bratzke Award of Excellence, Dean’s List, OVC Commissioner’s Honor Roll

Deja Tennon (Soccer/ Graphic Communications Management) - Colonel Scholar


Published on April 10, 2013

Open /*deleted href=#openmobile*/